Boys’ Gaelic Football


Mac Rory Cup team 2012/13

This year, St Paul’s senior footballers created history as they won the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Mac Cormack Cup. St Paul’s finished top of their MacRory group, which consisted of St Michael’s College, Enniskillen, St Colman’s College, Newry, St Macartan’s College, Monaghan, and Omagh CBS. St Paul’s remained unbeaten throughout the group stages and then went on to beat St Patrick’s College Maghera in the Mac Cormack Cup Final.

St Paul’s are now in the quarter final draw for the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Mac Rory Cup. The draw takes place in belfast on Monday 17th December. This page will be updated once the draw takes place.


Herald Cup team 2012/13

This year, St Paul’s under 16 boys team won the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Herald Cup. St Paul’s qualified from their group and they defeated St Patrick’s High School, Keady, in the quarter final and Rathmore Grammar School, Belfast, in the semi final to reach the final of the Herald Cup.

St Paul’s then went on to defeat St Joseph’s High School, Crossmaglen, in the final, to win their second Herald Cup.

Treanor Cup team 2012/13

IMG_9272 copySt Paul’s Bessbrook brought home another Ulster title to the School as they beat St Eunan’s College Letterkenny in the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Treanor Cup Final.

Played at the fantastic facilities in Garvaghey, County Tyrone, St Eunan’s started the brighter of the two teams as they kicked three points without reply in the opening five minutes of the game.

St Paul’s responded with a few points of their own, however a great flowing move by St Eunan’s left their full forward one on one with the St Paul’s keeper and he made no mistake in sending the ball into the back of the net.

Half time: St Paul’s Bessbrook 0-05 St Eunan’s Letterkenny 1-06

The second half started similar to the first half as St Eunan’s got the first score of the game but St Paul’s players showed great grit and determination to reply with three points in quick succession to put two points between the sides.

St Paul’s started to get on top and a long searching ball into the full forward line found Jarly Óg Burns, who rattled the back of the net to put St Paul’s in front for the first time in the match.

St Eunan’s responded from this as they went up the field to level proceedings, however with ten minutes to go Aaron Anderson lobbed the St Eunan’s keeper to send the ball into the back of the net to put St Paul’s back in the driving seat.

This goal proved the difference between the sides as St Paul’s went five points in front with a few minutes remaining on the clock. A late surge by St Eunan’s forced the St Paul’s keeper Michael Murphy to pull off an outstanding save, however St Eunan’s did get a point from this to reduce the deficit to four points.

Full time: St Paul’s Bessbrook 2-11 St Eunan’s Letterkenny 1-10

IMG_9127 copy

Pictured above is St Paul’s captain Ryan Gaskin alongside the referee and St Eunan’s Letterkenny captain.

Mac Larnon Team 2011/12

For the first time in the forty-six year history of St Paul’s High School, Bessbrook, the senior footballers are BT Colleges Mac Larnon Cup Champions after a thrilling victory over St Columb’s College, Derry at the Morgan Athletic Grounds in Armagh on 19th March 2012.

St Paul’s then went on to the Senior B Colleges All-Ireland semi final, were they defeated St Colman’s College, Fermoy, County Cork, to reach the final. The senior footballers then went on to create more history as they defeated Ardscoil Rís, Dublin, in the Senior B Colleges All-Ireland Final.